Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 1st, 2011

I must be the last guy in the Reformed Blogosphere to post this up.

Paul Manata, a very capable Christian thinker, has written a piece that would be a helpful concerning free will and human responsibility in light of Reformed Theology.

Here’s his introduction to the PDF from his blog:

In this paper, I introduce the philosophical discussion on free will and moral responsibility and some of the concerns and worries that arise in the subject. I then take note of where the Reformed tradition stands. Next, I offer an introduction to some popular ways Reformed theology can understand free will and moral responsibility in light of God’s decrees, providence, and omniscience. I then introduce the most popular Christian view of the will today: libertarian free will. After this, I take an excursus and discuss the recent popularity among some Reformed theologians of a view I call “Reformed libertarianism (or something near enough).” This view claims that Reformed scholastics appropriated the thought of Duns Scotus (or others in his line of descent), forging a via media between determinism and indeterminism, making use of the concept of “synchronic contingency.” After this I present some objections to libertarian free will that Reformed may employ. I close the paper and end with short “further reading” list. My hope is that this will prove beneficial for Reformed Christians, especially, though not exclusively, layman churchmen.

The PDF can be read directly here

Read Full Post »