Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 3rd, 2017

biblical-doctrine-macarthur

I’m at the Shepherd’s Conference right now where the most sold book in the conference’s history occurred this year with the new Biblical Doctrines edited by John MacArthur and Richard Mayhue.  There’s talk of this book published by Crossway will be translated in many other languages.  I’m looking forward to hear what God can do with this work to equip God’s Church to know God’s truth more accurately in a systematic fashion.

Now I know with every new systematic theology the question some would immediately ask would be “What are its strengths and weaknesses and how will the book present doctrines?”  Systematic theology has also gotten more complex with works discussing or at least accounting for aspect of historical theology, biblical theology, philosophical theology, etc.  While some have criticize systematic theology as “proof texting” I think the game has actually gotten more rigorous and more inter-disciplinary (at least with the various theologies).  For example I think of Crossway’s Foundation Of Evangelical Theology Series and the most recent work I reviewed God the Son Incarnate by Stephen Wellum and how it has dimensions of apologetics, epistemology, biblical theology and historical theology.

So looking at this new work by MacArthur here’s my initial observation.  I’ll be sharing first what I see is a big plus about the book and also one constructive criticism.  I share the constructive criticism humbly, especially when I imagine the incredible amount of hard work that was put into the volume and I am just a lowly reader of theology.

(more…)

Read Full Post »

Al Mohler

This was my notes on Al Mohler’s message during Shepherd’s Conference.  Shepherd’s Conference is a conference for Pastors and church leader at John MacArthur’s church.

John 15

We are seeing an increasing hostility to Christianity in the culture.  The danger is that Evangelicals think if we are clever enough we as Christians can be at peace with the world.

We are going to see in this passage multiple temptations.

There’s a big assumption among people today that there can be neutrality.

(more…)

Read Full Post »