Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 14th, 2018

For today’s post we will tackle the question the Skeptic Annotated Bible asked: Did Jesus baptize anyone?

Here are the two answers which the skeptic believes indicate a Bible contradiction:

Yes

Jesus baptized people in Judea.

After these things Jesus and His disciples came into the land of Judea, and there He was spending time with them and baptizing.” (John 3:22)

He baptized people with fire and the Holy Ghost.

As for me, I baptize you with water for repentance, but He who is coming after me is mightier than I, and I am not fit to remove His sandals; He will baptize you with the Holy Spirit and fire.” (Matthew 3:11)

John answered and said to them all, “As for me, I baptize you with water; but One is coming who is mightier than I, and I am not fit to untie the thong of His sandals; He will baptize you with the Holy Spirit and fire.” (Luke 3:16)

No, Jesus didn’t baptize anyone.

although Jesus Himself was not baptizing, but His disciples were.” (John 4:2)

(All Scriptural quotation comes from the New American Standard Bible)

Here’s a closer look at whether or not there is a contradiction:

(more…)

Read Full Post »