Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 21st, 2017

For other posts dealing with Bible contradictions see our Collection of Posts Responding to Bible Contradictions.

For today’s post we will tackle another question from the Skeptic Annotated Bible: Did Sarah have faith that she would conceive?

Here are the two answers which the skeptic believes shows a Bible contradiction:

Yes, she had faith.

By faith even Sarah herself received ability to conceive, even beyond the proper time of life, since she considered Him faithful who had promised.” (Hebrews 11:11)

No, she laughed at God.

“He said, “I will surely return to you at this time next year; and behold, Sarah your wife will have a son.” And Sarah was listening at the tent door, which was behind him. 11 Now Abraham and Sarah were old, advanced in age; Sarah was past childbearing. 12 Sarah laughed to herself, saying, “After I have become old, shall I have pleasure, my lord being old also?” 13 And the Lord said to Abraham, “Why did Sarah laugh, saying, ‘Shall I indeed bear a child, when I am so old?’ 14 Is anything too difficult for the Lord? At the appointed time I will return to you, at this time next year, and Sarah will have a son.” 15 Sarah denied it however, saying, “I did not laugh”; for she was afraid. And He said, “No, but you did laugh.”” (Genesis 18:10-15)

(All Scriptural quotation comes from the New American Standard Bible)

Here’s a closer look at whether or not there is a contradiction:

(more…)

Read Full Post »