Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 20th, 2018

A nonfiction leisure weekend reading review!  Because Pastors and apologists also need a break from heavy reading!

 

Sam Kleiner.  The Flying Tigers. New York, NY: Viking, May 15th, 2018. 304 pp.

5 out of 5

Purchase: Amazon

This is the story of a military aviation volunteer group comprising mostly of Americans that fought against the Japanese in China during the 1940s.  I have heard of the Flying Tigers for many years but know so little about them until I got a hold of this book.  What prompted to read this book was the result of reading a previous book on China and America titled The Beautiful Country and the Middle Kingdom.  That book talked about the Flying Tigers and their commander Claire Chennault and although it was too brief the reference to the Flying Tigers that book made me want to find a longer discussion of the famous fighter outfit.  I’m glad I read this book.

(more…)

Read Full Post »

After writing “Analysis of Rachel Held Evan’s Book “Inspired” Part 1: Introduction” yesterday I noticed that Rachel Held Evans sees Peter Enns as a mentor.  I have written on Peter Enns before on our blog (see the link in the analysis to Evans’ book) but seeing his name again led me to look up Enns and I found he wrote a recent piece on his blog titled “How Can I Trust the Bible?” (You Might Be Asking)”

It is strange in a piece titled “How Can I trust the Bible?” his essay doesn’t answer that question but instead does the opposite.  Liberals need to quit the click bait inaccurate titles.

(more…)

Read Full Post »